Home / Development / BAFTA opens call for entries
New 'streamlined' categories unveiled as Academy adds Fellowship for games industry

BAFTA opens call for entries

The British Academy has put out a call for entries to this year’s British Academy Video Games Awards.

Games released in the UK between October 6th, 2006 and December 31st, 2007 can be entered into 13 categories which include Action and Adventure, Sports, Innovation, Best Original Score and Multiplayer, plus Casual and Story and Character gongs.

The awards have been streamlined for 2007, with the Children’s Game category added instead to the BAFTA Children’s Awards.

This year will also see the first Fellowship being awarded at the Video Games Awards. The highest accolate the Academy can bestow, it is granted to an individual for outstanding achievement and contribution to the indsutry through a body of work – the winner is to be announced soon, while the finalists for the awards will be announced in a few months on September 25th.

The awards themselves take place on October 23rd in a ceremony at Battersea Evolution.

“The two new consoles, plus the continued growth in technology and homes connected to broadband have fuelled a further growth in games sales. The market has never been as innovative or dynamic,” says Paul Jackson, chair of BAFTA’s video games committee.

About MCV Staff

Check Also

When We Made… Cultist Simulator

We take a look behind the scenes at the development of Cultist Simulator. Weather Factory’s co-founder Lottie Bevan discusses building a game where understanding the game is the game itself and how being a cult leader is not that far from being a game dev